Procrastination and German Short Rows

Hello my name is Áine and I am a crafting procrastinator.   How many of us can say say the same?  I spend an inordinate time lookjng for my next project (even though my Ravelry queue is bursting at the seams).  I get an idea into my head and run with it, but at a snail’s pace I may add! 

So what happened was I had an urge to make a fine lace shawl and I have some beautiful laceweights in my stash, two different colours of Manos Lace, Drops Garnstudio Lace, Anniken Allis’ YarnAddict BFL Dream Lace, custom dyed as part of her Lace Lovers Club (which I highly recommend) and a beautiful Fyberspates Scrumptious Lace in a deep Cadbury purple, that was given to me as a gift last Christmas as part of a gift exchange.   I decided to use my Fyberspates and after much searching,  debating and gnashing of teeth I decided to knit Paulina Popiolek’s African Queen after reading through the instructions I saw that the shawl is shaped with short rows.  Now if you have ever used Fyberspates Scrumptious you will know that it is on the finer end of laceweight with a put up of 1000m/100g.  So I was concerned, given how fine the yarn was that any wraps made, would be highly visible, not a good look for a fine shawl, I may add.  l so I went on an internet search for the best short row techniques for shawls and quite surprisingly given the amount of information out there on short rows, there’s meagre pickings on using short rows on fine shawls.  After reading said pickings I came across the German short row technique and I have to say I’m very impressed!  This is the neatest, tidiest short row technique I’ve seen!  Even the Japanese short rows look sloppy compared with this!  Here is a link to the YouTube video and you can see for yourself. 

German Short Row Tutorial on YouTube

So what do you think?  Cool or what?  What short row technique do you use, in general and for fine lace?

I have been also working on the sweetest little piece of stitching for my Mum, which is the reason I’ve been MIA.  I promise I’ll post my FO very soon.  I can’t wait to see my Mum’s reaction!  She has no idea I’m doing it, it’s not for any occasion, just a little surprise 🙂

Happy crafting folks ♥

Leave a Reply

Kesi'Art, le blog

Ici, on partage nos influences créatives !

The Elemental World

News, extras, and more about the Elemental Mysteries and Elemental World series

ELIZABETH HUNTER

contemporary fantasy and paranormal romance

The Walker Treasury Project

A pooling of efforts to illustrate, in color, all five of the Walker treasuries

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Passing Down Crazy

Because Sometimes the Best Thing You Can Give Your Kid is an Addiction...To Yarn

Bloomin' Workshop

... making things

Fall from Grace Crafts

A blog on my craft journey highs and lows...

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Remily Knits

Thoughtful Patterns for Avid Knitters

Sew4Home - Transform Your Space

The craft exploits of a wannabe craft queen

tales of ted and agnes

The craft exploits of a wannabe craft queen

blog – Cath Kidston

The craft exploits of a wannabe craft queen

the twisted yarn

Knitting and crocheting colour for the home.

Heidi Bears

The craft exploits of a wannabe craft queen

